at the end of any turn in which you have captured at least one territory, you will earn ONE (and only one) RISK card. You are trying to collect sets of 3 cards in any of the following combinations:
3 cards of same design (3 infantry, Calvary of Artillary)
1 of each 3 designs
Any 2 plus a "wild card"
If you have collected a set of 3 RISK cards, you may turn them in at the beginning of your next turn, or you may wait. But if you have 5 or 6 cards at the beginning of your turn you MUST turn in at least one set, and May trade in a second set if you have one.
Trading in Cards for Armies
at the beginning of subsequent turns, you may trade in matched sets of cards and take additional armies based on the total number of sets anyone has traded in so far. For quick reference, keep trade-in cards face down under the bottom edge of the game board to mark the values (in armies) on the next trade.
First set traded in -- 4 armies
second set traded in -- 6 armies
third set traded in -- 8 armies
fourth set traded in -- 10 armies
Fifth set traded in -- 12 armies
sixth set traded in -- 15 armies
seventh set traded in -- 20 armies
if any of the 3 cards you trade in shows picture of a territory you occupy, you recieve 2 extra armies. You must place both those armies onto that paticular territory.
NOTE: on a single turn, you may recieve no more than 2 extra armies above and beyond those you recieve for the matched sets of cards you trade in.
HINTS: No matter how many armies you recieve at the start of your turn, deploy them carefully-either to prepare for an attack or to defend against one. It's good military strategy to move your armies to the front, heavily fortifying territories that border enemy territories.
Back to The On-line Rulebook
Back to the battlezone
Copyright © Mac's Shack/MacSoft 1995